2009 Easter Sunday Congregation 1300x300 Logo with 150 Years R255 20190907

St Peter's Church Streatham

Giving and Donations Graphic PNG
Open Sans History Graphic - Green JPG Vicar 01 Arthur Charles Tarbutt (1870-1890) stpeters1902ishwithivy 570x491

St Peter's parish was created from that of its overflowing mother church, St Leonard's, in order to minister to the ever expanding Victorian population. Today the parish spans parts of Streatham and West Norwood and includes some 5,000 homes and 16,000 people of all ages, races and religions.


The church was built on land given by George Drew, who owned a large part of the Leigham Manor Estate and who lived at Leigham Court. He also built Leigham Court Road and sold or redeveloped the remainder of the estate. He was supported by a number of wealthy families of the area, the Trollopes, the Morgans and others. They felt that the church they needed should be in the tradition of the Oxford Movement, then 30-40 years old, and they particularly wanted to have somewhere where the music would play a worthy part in the reverent and devotional worship they were asking for.


A temporary ‘tin’ church was erected on the west side of Leigham Court Road initially whilst the new church was built.  It was dedicated in 1865 to St Peter and St Paul.


The foundation stone of St Peter’s was laid by the wife of the rector of Streatham, Mrs Nicholl.  The dedication of the stone was performed at the same ceremony by the Bishop of Honolulu on June 28th 1868.  Within two years enough of the new church had been completed for it to be used, and on July 2nd 1870 it was consecrated by the diocesan Bishop of Winchester, Samuel Wilberforce.  The first mass was celebrated by the vicar The Reverend Arthur C. Tarbutt.

Picture above - A hand coloured picture of St Peter's from a postcard in the early 1900s. Probably before c.1906. Note the ivy and the round tower.  The hand colourist used red instead of the church's distinctive polychrome yellow brick colour.

St Peters - Tin Church - Interior Photograph 429

The interior of the "Tin Church", dedicated to St Peter and St Paul, built on the west side of Leigham Court Road opposite the site of today's church building.

Vicar 02 Henry Baron Dickinson (1890-1904) Vicar 03 Edward Jervis (1904-1918) Vicar 04 Herbert Charles Frith (1919-1927) Vicar 05 Richard Frederick Morson (1927-1941) Vicar 06 Walter Gould (1941-1949) Vicar 07 Charles David Smith (1949-1968) Vicar 08 Michael James Woodgate (1969-1984) Vicar 09 John R Hall (1984-1992) Vicar 10 Andrew Stephen Walker (1993-1998)

Former Incumbents of St Peter's

Arthur Charles Tarbutt - first Vicar of St Peter's


Henry Baron Dickinson



Edward Jervis




Herbert Charles Frith




Richard Frederick Morson



Walter Gould




Charles David Smith




Michael James Woodgate



Andrew Stephen Walker



Dr. John Hall




History Part 2 History Part 3 History Part 4 History Part 5

History Part 1


History Part 2 Home Page Stained Glass For Website - History

Peter Douglas